Iowa State men’s basketball: Georges Niang makes Preseason All-Big 12 Team


Two Iowa State basketball players were honored as the Big 12 voted on their preseason awards on Thursday.

More from Men's Basketball

Cyclones forward Georges Niang was a part of the 2014-15 Preseason All-Big 12 Team, and guard Bryce Dejean-Jones was named as the Preseason Newcomer of the Year. Here was the Big 12’s writeup on Dejean-Jones on their official athletic website.

"Dejean-Jones will be eligible to play immediately after transferring from UNLV. The senior saw action in 31 games a year ago, making 26 starts. He averaged a team-best 13.6 points while grabbing 3.7 rebounds with 3.0 assists per game. Dejean-Jones scored in double figures in 24 outings and shot 42.7 percent from the field."

Niang joins Perry Ellis from Kansas in the frontcourt, and the backcourt consists of Marcus Foster from Kansas State, Buddy Hield from Oklahoma, and Juwan Staten from West Virginia. Staten also took home Preseason Player of the Year honrs. Both Ellis and Staten were unanimously selected players.

There were two freshmen of the year listed due to a tie. Cliff Alexander from Kansas and Myles Turner from Texas made the cut. It’s not a surprise to see both of them get the award as they were highly touted.

Last year, Melvin Ejim was also on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team. Niang joins elite company, but it’s absolutely deserving. He’s regarded as one of the top forwards in the country and many people that don’t follow the Cyclones closely think he’s all that the team’s got. It’s not true, but that’s a testament to his abilities. Not to mention he’s beefed up to take on the role of being a leader.

Honorable mentions include Ryan Spangler from Oklahoma, Le’Bryan Nash from Oklahoma State, and Jonathan Holmes, Cameron Ridley, and Isaiah Taylor from Texas.