Iowa State women’s basketball: Breaking down the 2014-15 schedule

Yesterday, the Iowa State women’s basketball schedule was completely unveiled for the 2014-15 season. Let’s break the entirety of it down.

First, the non-conference slate is pretty lackluster. The season begins on November 4th with two exhibition games, and then three straight home games against USC Upstate, Drake, and Cincinnati. After going to Moraga, California, during Thanksgiving weekend to take on Wyoming and St. Mary’s, the Cyclones will have a home game against Stony Brook before going to Iowa City to take on the Hawkeyes.

The rest of the non-conference slate will be in Hilton Coliseum, closing out with Arkansas Pine-Bluff, Fairfield, and the Cyclone Challenge with Brown, UC Riverside, and Howard.

Obviously, the game against the Hawkeyes is really the only game of note here. Upsets happen and the trip to California for a couple of games could be interesting — the game against St. Mary’s is a true road game and the only one out of the state.

Next up is the Big 12 schedule, which runs from January 3rd through March 2nd. Basically, where’s Baylor, West Virginia, and Oklahoma State at? Luckily, the team stays away from playing the toughest opponents back-to-back. There’s two instances where the team has to be on the road in back-to-back games, and that’s January 13th and 17th against Baylor and Kansas State, respectively, then February 11th and 14th against Texas Tech and Oklahoma respectively.

Iowa State won’t have to face the Bears again after the first meeting until Saturday, February 28th at Hilton Coliseum. The game ends probably the toughest stretch for the team all season. Sandwiched between two games with Texas Tech are a road game at Oklahoma State on February 14th, a home game with Oklahoma on February 16th, and a road game against West Virginia on February 21st.

Overall, the schedule is very manageable and should favor the Cyclones to get back into the NCAA women’s basketball tournament.

Here’s the full 2014-15 schedule (from Cyclones.com):

DateOpponentLocationTime (CST)
  Tue, Nov 04 William Penn (Exh.)Ames, Iowa  7:00 p.m. 
  Sun, Nov 09 Winona State (Exh.)Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Sun, Nov 16 USC UpstateAmes, Iowa  12:30 p.m. 
  Tue, Nov 18 DrakeAmes, Iowa  7:00 p.m. 
  Sun, Nov 23 CincinnatiAmes, Iowa  TBA 
St. Mary’s Thanksgiving Tournament
  Fri, Nov 28 WyomingMoraga, Calif.  2:00 p.m. 
  Sat, Nov 29 St. Mary’sMoraga, Calif.  4:30 p.m. 
  Sun, Dec 07 Stony BrookAmes, Iowa  TBA 
  Thu, Dec 11 Iowa (Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series)Iowa City, Iowa  TBA 
  Sun, Dec 14 Arkansas Pine-BluffAmes, Iowa  TBA 
  Sun, Dec 21 FairfieldAmes, Iowa  TBA 
Cyclone Challenge
  Mon, Dec 29 Brown vs. UC RiversideAmes, Iowa  5:00 p.m. 
  Mon, Dec 29 HowardAmes, Iowa  7:30 p.m. 
  Tue, Dec 30 TBD vs. TBDAmes, Iowa  5:00 p.m. 
  Tue, Dec 30 TBD vs. TBDAmes, Iowa  7:30 p.m. 
  Sat, Jan 03 Kansas State *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Wed, Jan 07 TCU *Fort Worth, Texas  TBA 
  Sat, Jan 10 Texas *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Tue, Jan 13 Baylor *Waco, Texas  TBA 
  Sat, Jan 17 Kansas State *Manhattan, Kan.  TBA 
  Wed, Jan 21 TCU *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Sun, Jan 25 Texas *Austin, Texas  TBA 
  Wed, Jan 28 Kansas *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Sat, Jan 31 Oklahoma State *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Wed, Feb 04 Oklahoma *Norman, Okla.  TBA 
  Sat, Feb 07 West Virginia *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Wed, Feb 11 Texas Tech *Lubbock, Texas  TBA 
  Sat, Feb 14 Oklahoma State *Stillwater, Okla.  TBA 
  Mon, Feb 16 Oklahoma *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Sat, Feb 21 West Virginia *Morgantown, W.Va.  TBA 
  Tue, Feb 24 Texas Tech *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Sat, Feb 28 Baylor *Ames, Iowa  TBA 
  Mon, Mar 02 Kansas *Lawrence, Kan.  TBA 
  Fri, Mar 06 –
Mon, Mar 09
 Phillips 66 Big 12 Women’s Basketball ChampionshipDallas, Texas  TBA