Iowa State football: Cory Morrissey nominated for AFCA Good Works Team


Three different college football watch lists that honor the best linebackers and receivers were released in the last couple days. While no Iowa State Cyclones were honored, there was a player honored for a separate award watch list.

More from Big 12 News

On Tuesday, Cory Morrissey from Iowa State was nominated for the 2014 AFCA Good Works Team, awarding college football’s best in charity and community service work.

Other Big 12 players on that list include Baylor’s Bryce Petty, Kansas State’s Ryan Mueller, Oklahoma State’s J.W. Walksh, TCU’s Sam Carter, Texas Tech’s Bradley Marquez, Kansas’ JaCorey Shepherd, Texas’ Nate Boyer, and West Virginia’s Michael Molinari.

The Cyclones have been well represented on linebacker watch lists in recent history, but unsurprisingly none of them made it on them this year. That doesn’t mean they can’t work to get some respect this season, including Luke Knott who undoubtedly wants to live up to his older brother’s performances at Iowa State.

Here are the rest of the Big 12 players listed for the Butkus, Lombardi, and Biletnikoff awards.

Butkus Award – Given to the NFL, college football, and high school’s best nationally recognized linebacker. This is the award’s 29th year in existence.

Rotary Lombardi Award – Given to college football’s best linebacker. This is the award’s 45th year in existence.

Biletnikoff Award – Given to college football’s best receiver. This is the award’s 21st year in existence.