Iowa State football: Troy Davis doesn’t make 2014 College Football Hall of Fame


Former running back star of the Iowa State Cyclones, Troy Davis, did not get enough votes to be inducted into the 2014 College Football Hall of Fame.

Ames Tribune’s Bobby La Gesse reached out to ESPN’s Brett McMurphy, who was listing off all the inductees earlier today that made it into the hall of fame.  McMurphy confirmed Davis wasn’t one of them.

It’s unfortunate to see Davis snubbed. He’s a legendary player not only for Iowa State, but in college football history amassing two 2,000+ yard seasons. And yes, he did get snubbed. He was clearly overlooked when you look at a comparison of Stanford’s Darrin Nelson.

Davis wasn’t the only major Big 12 snub today. Other famous names include Oklahoma’s Brian Bosworth and Texas’ Ricky Williams. Other notables left off include Nebraska’s Eric Crouch and Trev Alberts, USC’s Keyshawn Johnson, and Iowa’s Tim Dwight.

Who did make the hall this year? Here’s a list compiled by SB Nation:

  • Oregon, Chico State coach Mike Bellotti
  • North Carolina cornerback Dré Bly
  • USC offensive tackle Tony Boselli
  • Purdue defensive tackle Dave Butz
  • Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan
  • Georgia Tech quarterback Joe Hamilton
  • Maine linebacker John Huard
  • Appalachian State, Texas Tech, North Texas coach Jerry Moore
  • Stanford running back Darrin Nelson
  • Louisiana Tech offensive lineman Willie Roaf
  • UCLA quarterback John Sciarra
  • South Carolina tight end Shannon Sharpe
  • McNeese State cornerback Leonard Smith
  • Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas
  • TCU running back LaDainian Tomlinson
  • Ole Miss tight end Wesley Walls

In fairness, there’s going to be tough cuts when dividing the field from 75 to 16. But there’s really no excuse to leave Davis out of it, and he’ll unfortunately have to deal with being overlooked this year like he was when being a Heisman Trophy finalist.

Better luck next year, Troy.